Skip to content
Start with Identity
ITDR

Silverfort

Founded 2016Tel Aviv, IsraelPrivate (VC-backed)Score 4.4/5Evaluated 2026-10-16Website ↗

Capability scores

Methodology →
Authentication
4.5
SSO & Federation
3.0
Authorization
4.0
Lifecycle & Provisioning
2.5
MFA & Passwordless
4.5
Governance & Audit
4.0
Developer Experience
3.0
Deployment Flexibility
4.5
Pricing Transparency
2.5
Support & Ecosystem
3.5

Scored 0–5 against a published rubric. Independent analysis, no vendor sponsorship.

Overview

Silverfort protects identities that other tools cannot reach. Its core claim is architectural: rather than sitting in front of applications as a proxy or requiring agents on every endpoint, it operates inside the existing identity infrastructure, analysing authentication requests and instructing the identity provider to allow, deny or step up. That makes it the default answer for extending MFA to legacy applications, Active Directory authentication, command-line access and service accounts that were never built to support it.

Founded in 2016 by Hed Kovetz, Yaron Kassner and Matan Fattal, it reports more than 1,000 customer organisations and 222 million dollars raised, most recently a 116 million dollar Series D in January 2024.

What it is good at

Coverage of the unreachable. Universal MFA on systems with no native support is the flagship capability, and non-human identity and service account protection follow from the same interception point: if you see every authentication, you see every service account actually authenticating, which is usually a longer list than anyone expects.

Two acquisitions widened the platform materially. Rezonate in November 2024 added posture management and threat detection; Fabrix Security in April 2026 added a team drawn from Run:ai, Orca Security and Microsoft Defender for Cloud, aimed at AI agent security.

Its commercial model deserves credit for predictability. Licensing meters by employee headcount rather than by protected identities or systems, so the bill does not grow as you extend coverage. That is the opposite of how most identity security products price, and it removes the usual disincentive to protect more.

Where it falls short

Transparency, in two specific ways. The public documentation asserts that the product is agentless and proxyless without describing the mechanics, so buyers cannot assess the architecture from public material and must request it. And the trust centre is login-gated with public security pages returning 404, meaning certifications cannot be independently verified.

The zero-CVE record should not be overread. With no public advisory feed and closed source, absence of published vulnerabilities is not evidence of their absence.

Pricing

Four packages, Core through Enterprise, unpriced on the vendor site. The AWS Marketplace listing publishes 15,000 dollars for 12 months, billed on employee headcount. Premier support adds 10 percent of licence cost, Diamond 20 percent. No free tier or trial.

Best for, and who should look elsewhere

Choose Silverfort when the problem is identity coverage gaps: legacy systems, AD authentication, service accounts, OT. For broader endpoint-centric ITDR, compare CrowdStrike Falcon Identity Protection. For non-human identity discovery, see Token Security; Astrix Security is now part of Cisco and no longer sold standalone. For full privileged access, see CyberArk (now Idira, part of Palo Alto Networks) or Delinea.

Bottom line

The strongest answer to identity coverage gaps that no agent or proxy can reach, with refreshingly predictable licensing, held back by public documentation that does not explain how it works.

Silverfort: frequently asked questions

How much does Silverfort cost?
Silverfort does not publish pricing on its own site, stating only that pricing is based on organisation size across four packages: Core, Plus, Advanced and Enterprise. However, its AWS Marketplace listing does carry a real figure, 15,000 dollars for 12 months, with 24 and 36 month terms available but unpriced. Two details there matter more than the number. First, licensing is metered by total employee headcount, not by the number of identities or systems actually protected, which is unusual and makes the cost predictable but unavoidable. Second, support tiers carry published percentages: Premier adds 10 percent of licence cost and Diamond adds 20 percent.
How does Silverfort's agentless architecture actually work?
Silverfort calls it Runtime Access Protection, operating inside the existing identity infrastructure rather than as a proxy or endpoint agent. The documented flow is that the identity provider forwards an authentication request to Silverfort, Silverfort performs risk analysis, and the identity provider then grants or denies. For Active Directory it analyses every authentication request and pushes MFA where policy requires it. Worth knowing before you buy: Silverfort's public documentation does not specify the protocol-level mechanics, whether anything is installed on domain controllers, or where the product sits on the network. Third-party write-ups assert inline Kerberos, NTLM and LDAP inspection, but we could not confirm that from a Silverfort source. Ask for an architecture document during evaluation.
What has Silverfort acquired?
Two companies. Rezonate, announced 13 November 2024, added identity threat detection and posture management; terms were not disclosed, though press reported a value in the tens of millions. Fabrix Security, announced 28 April 2026, also on undisclosed terms, brought a team from Run:ai, Orca Security, Microsoft Entra and Microsoft Defender for Cloud; Fabrix had raised 8 million dollars. Silverfort said the majority of joint Fabrix capabilities would land in the second half of 2026.
Does Silverfort have known vulnerabilities?
No CVEs are assigned to Silverfort in the National Vulnerability Database, and no Silverfort product appears in the CISA KEV catalog. Read that carefully: for a privately held, closed-source product with no published advisory feed, a zero-CVE record is weak positive evidence rather than proof of security. Separately, Silverfort's research team has published vulnerabilities it found in Microsoft Active Directory, including a domain controller crash issue and an NTLM group policy bypass. Those are flaws in Microsoft's product, not Silverfort's, and should not be read as either.
Is Silverfort SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certified?
Silverfort's trust centre is login-gated and its public security pages return 404, so we could not verify any certification from a primary source. Third-party summaries claim SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, and the AWS Marketplace listing references a trust centre, but no certificate or attestation is publicly enumerated. No FedRAMP listing was found, though the FedRAMP API changed in 2026 so treat that as unverified rather than a confirmed negative. Ask for attestations directly.
How well funded is Silverfort?
Its last disclosed round was a 116 million dollar Series D in January 2024, led by Brighton Park Capital with Acrew Capital, Greenfield Partners, Citi Ventures, General Motors Ventures, Maor Investments, Vintage Investment Partners and Singtel Innov8. Silverfort states 222 million dollars raised in total. TechCrunch reported a 1 billion dollar valuation at that round, a figure Silverfort itself did not state. No funding after January 2024 was found. The company reports more than 1,000 organisations as customers including many in the Fortune 100.
What does Silverfort actually cover?
Current modules are identity security posture management, Universal MFA, non-human identity security, AI agent security, an authentication firewall, ITDR, access intelligence, privileged access security and an identity graph. The strongest use case remains the original one: extending MFA to systems that cannot support it natively, such as legacy applications, Active Directory authentication, command-line tools and service accounts.
What are the best Silverfort alternatives?
For the legacy and Active Directory MFA problem specifically there is no exact like-for-like, which is much of Silverfort's value. For broader ITDR, compare CrowdStrike Falcon Identity Protection and Microsoft Defender for Identity. For service account and non-human identity discovery, Token Security competes directly; Astrix Security did too until Cisco acquired it in June 2026 and ended standalone sales. For privileged access, Silverfort's PAS module is lighter than a full platform from CyberArk, Delinea or BeyondTrust.

Silverfort comparisons

Last reviewed By SWI Community TeamSuggest a correctionHow we research

By SWI Community Team · Last evaluated 2026-10-16

Independent, community-driven analysis. No vendor sponsorship. Compiled from public research and community input and verified on a best-effort basis, so details may be incomplete or out of date. Scores are opinions, not advice. Trademarks belong to their owners; mention does not imply affiliation or endorsement. See the full disclaimer, or send corrections to community@startwithidentity.com.